Beach House Banner

I’ve long wanted to share some of the inspiration for the book.  My hometown of Point Pleasant is a small oceanside community with beautiful beach front homes and modestly appointed suburban neighborhoods.  Evan and Juliette spend a great deal of time in Evan’s beach house.  Who could blame them?  It’s got a remarkable view of the ocean, a fair amount of privacy, and all the amenities a million dollar property should have.

Before I could write about Evan’s home, I had to first find his home.  I searched home sale listings all across the county until I found the one – Evan’s million dollar beach house.  Once I found his house, I was able to create his life around it.  Upon seeing that beautiful deck, I knew Evan would take Juliette there on the day of their fateful meeting.  When I saw the master bath with views of the ocean from the tub and the shower, I knew they could really have fun there.  In order to describe it and place them (and hopefully you) in it, I had to know it inside and out.  The same goes for every room of the house, really.

Evan’s taste feels simple to me.  He would not have decorated this home himself.  Someone would have done this for him.  But he would have insisted on simple furnishing and nautical themes to match his new surroundings.  The furniture is mostly leather, there are a lot of wood surfaces, and plenty of windows.  Perhaps as time progresses, he will let Juliette add her personal touch with some feminine fabrics.

Visit The Beach House page for the images that inspired me.

About Suzanne Sweeney

Suzanne Sweeney spends her days sharing her love of reading and writing with youngsters, teaching them the tricks of the trade. Finally, now that her children are grown, she has found the time to take her own advice and put pen to paper, recently releasing her debut novel, "Running Back you You". Always looking for a new challenge, Suzanne now joins the ranks of other Indie Authors searching to find their voice and audience. The "Running Series" is set in her hometown, a small seaside community recently devastated by Hurricane Sandy. Most of the places described in her books are real places and readers are encouraged to visit and patronize all the local businesses. We are all Jersey Strong!

2 responses »

  1. Tricia says:

    Hi Suzanne, I have just finished reading Running Back to you and just had to congratulate you on a great story. I started reading with the intention of only reading a little and 4 hours later have just finished. I really enjoyed the story, meeting the characters and joining their lives if only for a little while, and know that it is one I will re read.

    • Tricia,
      Thank you for the kind words. I’m so glad you enjoyed the RBTY. I read a lot of books, but there are only a few that I reread more than once. To hear you tell me that this is on you reread list is high praise, indeed. I hope I don’t let you down with the sequel.
      ~Suzanne

Leave a Reply

