ball playerI wouldn’t call it writer’s block, because I’m already half way done with “Running Into Your Arms”.  What I’m currently struggling with is a severe bout of indecision and I’m hoping that a few of you can help.

You see, as I’m writing Adam & Emmy’s story, which is fully developed in my mind, a parallel storyline is taking place.  There’s a new man in town who’s turning heads and making waves.  But he’s only got one thing on his mind ~ making it in the majors.

Here’s where you come in.  I cannot decide on the name of the fictional New Jersey MLB team and I would love to hear what you think.  Here are my thoughts, along with the pros and cons I’m debating over.

New Jersey Generals

  • Pros:  The Generals would work well in partnership with it’s NFL counterpart, the Sentinels.
  • Cons:  In the 80’s, there was once a football team called the NJ Generals that played USFL which no longer exists. (On the plus side, I’m not sure how many people actually know that!)

New Jersey Rebels

  • Pros:  Let’s face it, NJ has it’s fair share of mobsters, corruption, and big personalities.
  • Cons:  Continuing NJ’s negative reputation is not on the top of my “to-do” list

New Jersey Renegades

  • Pros:  The Renegades is a softer, gentler form of Rebel that works well beside the Sentinels
  • Cons:  See “Rebels”

New Jersey Grenadiers

  • Pros: Yet another military-sounding term
  • Cons:  Not widely known term, more closely related to the UK

New Jersey Red Hawks

  • Pros:  Hawks are native to NJ and some species are currently on the Endangered list; it’s a carnivorous bird of prey.
  • Cons:  The MLB has the Cincinnati Reds & the Boston Red Sox, and the NHL has the Chicago Blackhawks and Detroit Red Wings.

New Jersey Highlanders

  • Pros:  There is a region of NJ known as the Highlands
  • Cons:  It’s also the name of a Starz series set in Scotland.

New Jersey Garnet Gulls

  • Pros:  This is the name of Point Pleasant Beach’s high school athletic team, it’s an homage to the small town that the “gang” calls home.
  • Cons:  Do Gulls make their opponents quiver?  Is it the name of a winning team?

If you have a thought on the subject, I would love to hear from you.  And if you have another suggestion I haven’t thought of, please share.  Be brutally honest and tell me what immediately comes to mind.  I can’t wait to read your impressions.

~Suzanne

 

About Suzanne Sweeney

Suzanne Sweeney spends her days sharing her love of reading and writing with youngsters, teaching them the tricks of the trade. Finally, now that her children are grown, she has found the time to take her own advice and put pen to paper, recently releasing her debut novel, "Running Back you You". Always looking for a new challenge, Suzanne now joins the ranks of other Indie Authors searching to find their voice and audience. The "Running Series" is set in her hometown, a small seaside community recently devastated by Hurricane Sandy. Most of the places described in her books are real places and readers are encouraged to visit and patronize all the local businesses. We are all Jersey Strong!

8 responses »

  1. Mary Mooney says:

    I like NJ Generals. How about NJ Sentries maybe to close to Sentinels though

  2. Laurie says:

    Hi Suzanne,

    My immediate thoughts were that I love New Jersey Renegades and New Jersey Red Hawks. Renegades just sounds cool….bass ass if you will. I like Red Hawks because the bird is a bird of prey and it’s native to New Jersey. Red Hawks also sounds like the name of a pro baseball team. I’m from Ohio and I wouldn’t think twice about another team with the word Red in it. To me the Cincinnati Reds and the Red Sox are just two more baseball teams and having a team named Red Hawks seems natural.

    Hope that helps!

    Laurie

  3. Laurie says:

    Hi Selena,

    It’s me again. I forgot to be brutally honest. Other than the New Jersey Renegades and the New Jersey Red Hawks (Red Hawks definitely my favorite.) I absolutely abhor the other names you’ve picked. Okay…so the Generals isn’t too bad but it’s not great either. Rebels sounds like a motorcycle gang. Grenadiers…..I wouldn’t know what the term even hinted at if you hadn’t said what it was in your pros/cons list. Highlanders sounds like you’re referring to some Scottish people, not a baseball team. (Unless there is some unknown Scottish ties to New Jersey that I’m unaware of it just sounds awkward.) And Garnet Gulls….well it makes me want to giggle. It doesn’t sound tough or sporty to me at all. (But then again I root for The Ohio State Buckeyes! I’m sure most people want to know what the hell a Buckeye is and why anybody would root for one!) (FYI-A buckeye is a nut off of a buckeye tree. The nut itself looks like the eye of a buck (male deer….you know after the eyeball has fallen out of its head…I guess??? LOL!)

    Buckeye. Fierce looking isn’t it?

    Now that could be scary!

    Plus it could be powerful and awesome!

    It would make a great mascot as well. Since it’s endangered I’m guessing that some are bred and raised in captivity. So that leaves the possibility that they would have a bird trainer that could bring the mascot to games to fly around the stadium before a game. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen a bird of prey let loose to fly in an enclosed arena or even in an open area where it’s trained to come back but it’s pretty damn cool! A rescued injured red hawk could also be used….a legitimate way to have an endangered bird trained as a mascot. If you have any doubts about the possibilities of this being a reality or if it would be a moral concern for certain animal groups I could ask Jack Hanna aka Jungle Jack Hanna. He’s a good friend and his advice on wildlife is sought throughout the world. If you’re not sure who he is you can google him.

    Okay, now I’ve been brutally honest! Hope it helps!

    ~Laurie

  4. Dee DenBleyker says:

    Red Hawks definitely has my vote and I am looking forward to your book.

  5. jen sumption says:

    Red hawks is my pick!! I can’t wait for more books from you!

  6. Brenda says:

    Red Hawks is my favorite! Looking forward to the next book!!!!!

  7. Amy Malek Concepcion says:

    I like generals, renegades or red hawks. I would be happy with any of them.

  8. Nancy says:

    I have to agree – Red Hawks for a baseball team!

Leave a Reply

